0
  • No products in the cart.

  • 0
  • No products in the cart.

  • Roger Parks, JMS Co-Founder, PN2, SFG KB1

    Experience:

    A lot. I trained my first client when I was 21-years-old. I’m nearly twice that old. I have logged over 20,000 hours of training time, twice the time that some think is required to be an expert in my field. I have trained privately, and worked for both big box, and high-end gyms. I have been a trainer, a manager, and a trainer of trainers. My experience, specifically, with trainer education has offered valuable insight into the needs of clients and trainers alike, and taught me how to make complex issues both simple to understand and practical to apply.

    Certifications:

    I am a certified personal trainer, several times over, with a focus on topics ranging from breath work to movement, corrective exercise to kettlebells. More importantly, I set aside 15 hours weekly to continue my education: doing the same thing year-after-year does not guarantee that you are doing it well.

    Coaching Style:

    Direct, yet empathetic. Don’t expect aggressive or peppy: they are opposite ends of the coaching spectrum focused too much on the coach, rather than the client. This is about you, not me. I respect my clients, which means I must give them the truth in a palatable way, and trust them to make good choices. Empowerment is paramount: if a client is dependent upon my coaching when the process is done, I have failed. Kindness at all times is important, as is the understanding that I am coaching a human, not merely a problem.

    Physical Interests:

    I hold a black belt in two martial arts, and have been boxing since early youth. I like staying bendy, lifting heavy things, and swinging around kettlebells. I love to walk and hike: my brain works better when my feet are moving.

    What I Enjoy In My Downtime:

    When I’m not training clients (I’m usually training clients), I enjoy exploring the world with my wife, Jessica, and spending time with our two cats, Jack and Penelope. Early a.m. strolls on the weekends keep me sane. I like exploring, either around Los Angeles, where we live, or anywhere in the world. My top three trips: South Africa, New Zealand, and Peru.

    Fun Fact About Me:

    I chased a bear once to get a better photo. I’m not saying that it was smart, just that it happened. Sometimes, I get too focused on something for my own good.

    Guiding Philosophy:

    Success is personal, so don’t let anyone else define it for you. You will know it when you see it. It comes in two broad stages (not necessarily in order): 1. figure out what it looks like, and 2. learn how to stay out of your own way.

    Things My Clients Are Tired Of Hearing Me Say:

    “If it isn’t on your calendar, it isn’t a plan, but an idea.” “Willpower is not a strategy.” “One of these days, you will learn to listen to me the first time I say something.”

    You are what you do. Here is my typical weekday:

    Random Weekday Stuff I Do
    3:00 – 4:00 a.m. Open eyes. Find something to smile about.
    3:00 – 5:30 a.m. Read. Learn some stuff. Enjoy the sunrise. Prep food.
    5:30 – 6:00ish a.m. Meditate.
    7:00 a.m. – noon Help people look better naked. Workout. Eat veggies.
    1:00 p.m. – 5:00 p.m. Help people look better naked. Train some trainers.
    5:00 p.m. – 6:00 p.m. Learn even more stuff.
    6:00 p.m. – 8:00 p.m. Relax with my wife. Talk to my cats. Be grateful.
    8:00 p.m. – 9:00 p.m. Blue-light-filtered bed-time reading, i.e. learn even more stuff.
    9:00 p.m. – ? Sleep, allegedly.
    Janus Movement Solutions © 2019